Ovens: Gas Vs. Electric

Decorating By Jolene78 Updated 29 Jun 2008 , 1:54pm by leily

Jolene78 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Jolene78 Posted 27 Jun 2008 , 1:42pm
post #1 of 13
Quote:
Quote:

I am in the process of selecting a new stove. I am a home baker and am torn between an all gas range or one of the dual fuel (gas cooktop w/ electric oven). I definately want a gas cooktop. I have never used electric an electric oven. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

12 replies
ccr03 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ccr03 Posted 27 Jun 2008 , 2:17pm
post #2 of 13

Personally, I don't think I could EVER use an electric one. We used to have one and it was goofy. I baked once w/one and my cakes so did not come out.

PErsonally, I would get a gas one.

SweetPea0613 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SweetPea0613 Posted 27 Jun 2008 , 10:24pm
post #3 of 13

Stick with the gas!

I live in apartments and we have electric ovens.....

If I follow directions on the cake mix my cake will be black and burned!!! icon_surprised.gif

I had to bake a chocolate cake at about twenty minutes when on the box it said 35.

You would have to test to see what works with the cakes in the oven...it's a pain!!!

But that's just me... icon_smile.gif

SweetPea0613 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SweetPea0613 Posted 27 Jun 2008 , 10:27pm
post #4 of 13

Stick with the gas!

I live in apartments and we have electric ovens.....

If I follow directions on the cake mix my cake will be black and burned!!! icon_surprised.gif

I had to bake a chocolate cake at about twenty minutes when on the box it said 35.

You would have to test to see what works with the cakes in the oven...it's a pain!!!

But that's just me... icon_smile.gif

leah_s Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leah_s Posted 27 Jun 2008 , 10:35pm
post #5 of 13