Stacked Cake Help

Decorating By inspirations Updated 25 Jun 2008 , 11:26pm by milissasmom

inspirations Posted 25 Jun 2008 , 4:14pm
post #1 of 10

I'm doing a wedding cake next week (actually, it's TWO wedding cakes) and they are both 3 tiers, stacked. The only wedding cake I've done before this was a dummy cake and had pillars, so this is my first time attempting a stacked cake that is real and I'm freaking out!

I realize it's probably not as hard as I think it is, but I guess I'm starting to scare myself with visions of a cake that topples, or something equally as devastating.

Can somebody please help me out by letting me know the best way to do it...and things to aviod? I've read the instructions that Wilton gives, and while I understand it, I'm a bit leery about some things...such as, if you use a carboard circle between layers, how the heck do you get the piece of dowling down through all the layers to hold it together?

And should I stack it, then ice it? I'm not using buttercream or fondant.

Can somebody please help me...and help put my mind at ease??? icon_confused.gif

9 replies
buttercream_dreams Posted 25 Jun 2008 , 4:23pm
post #2 of 10

if you look back at the topic index (of How do i?) there is a topic listed as -How do you stack cakes?!!
in which JanH provides an awesome post with pretty much every and all links from past threads explaining it. it takes all the guess work and pain out of having to search for these things...or post duplicate threads. HTH, and big thanks to JanH.

cake-angel Posted 25 Jun 2008 , 4:24pm
post #3 of 10

If you are not using buttercream or fondant - what are you using to ice the cake?
To get the dowel down through the center sharpen one end with a pencil sharpener and just push through. A couple of taps with a mallet will punch it through the cardboard when you hit it.
It is easier to ice the tiers first and stack after and then add the borders and final touches.

crystalina1977 Posted 25 Jun 2008 , 4:27pm
post #4 of 10