What Size Cake Would You Recommend??

Decorating By doublecz1103 Updated 26 Jun 2008 , 3:48am by leah_s

doublecz1103 Posted 25 Jun 2008 , 1:34pm
post #1 of 16

Someone on CC took 2 wedding cake pictures for me and made this one below... i've never done anything like this yet because i'm still pretty new to the cake world and I didn't know if my idea would work...or if it would be toooo heavy... can I do this design with a 16'', 14'', and 8'' ??? I didn't know if it would be top heavy or if it would still be supported well... the cake needs to feed 150... any other suggestions would be helpful!! thanks

15 replies
wgoat5 Posted 25 Jun 2008 , 1:55pm
post #2 of 16

I think it would work with proper support.. but you are jumping 8 inches between the 8 and 14 .. might be a little (in my opinion) catywhompis (sons word LOL)

Might look a little bit off I think... an 8 inch for a wedding topper I think is a bit big.. but then I don't do wedding cakes so you will probably get lots of answers

Beautiful design icon_smile.gif and good luck!!! We know you can do it icon_biggrin.gif

-K8memphis Posted 25 Jun 2008 , 2:08pm
post #3 of 16

See now to me this is exactly why people need the odd size pans. I'd do 15x12x9 or something. But personally I love a little bitty top cake so I'd want to add the 6" for a 15x12x9x6 on there too. Because with the former set up you just lost all the sevings in the 9" if that's the anniversary cake. Whereas you can afford to loose the 6" servings.

But if you could do 4 tiers you could maybe start at a 14 incher for a 14x11x7x4. I mean Margaret Braun does 2" cakes that are 4" tall. Shoot you can do a 4" if you want.

I mean are they keeping the top tier or serving it? That little detail drives me nuts too. (short trip yeah I know)

Or or or how about a 14 round a 10 inch square and a 8or9 round or something. No no no I forgot about the picture, they are all round.

Umm, my advice--get the odd sized pans.