I'm New! Hi To Everyone!!

Decorating By SweetPea0613 Updated 26 Jun 2008 , 12:52pm by mashmellow

SweetPea0613 Posted 25 Jun 2008 , 2:11am
post #1 of 25

Hello! My name is Susie...I'm new to cake decorating and these forums. I start classes at Michael's in a few weeks and I'm super excited!! I've made a few cakes on my own and I planned to be self taught, but I know it'll be better in the long run to learn techniques the right way. Take a look at my photos and let me know what you think (please be completely honest)

Well thanks for reading this and I look forward to my future in baking and decorating!!!! icon_biggrin.gif

24 replies
mindywith3boys Posted 25 Jun 2008 , 2:33am
post #2 of 25

Welcome Susie!! This is certainly a GREAT place to learn. It's addictive! You can literally lose track of time looking through pictures. You look up and hours have gone by. The "people" here (I used to say women, but we do have a few fellas)

I think your cakes look pretty good for beginning cakes. thumbs_up.gif I can't even remember what my first one looked like. icon_redface.gif I started doing mine for my kids birthday parties. We all have to start somewhere. And this is a great place to start!

If you have any questions, don't hesitate to ask! Good luck and most of all have fun!

butterflywings Posted 25 Jun 2008 , 2:36am
post #3 of 25

first, welcome to your newest addictions. yes, that is plural: cake decorating and cake central! you'll find most everyone here is very friendly, extremely helpful and what has amazed me is the complete willingness of pro's (and seasoned amateurs) to share their tips, secrets and suggestions. everyone is AWESOME!