Legal In South Carolina

Business By JimMitten Updated 25 Jun 2008 , 11:41am by JimMitten

JimMitten Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JimMitten Posted 24 Jun 2008 , 4:36pm
post #1 of 3

Hi Gang,

I'm a first time poster, long time lurker here! icon_rolleyes.gif

Quick intro: I'm an engineer that is going through a career change. Hopefully in the fall I'll be taking baking classes at the local tech school (they have a Baking and Pastry Chef Certificate program). Until then I'm devouring all the great hints and helps that ya'll have provided thumbs_up.gif

My end goal is to have a bakery (probably more desserts than breads) and sell to individuals, restaurants, and touristy shops here in Charleston.

As I'm working on my skills, I've also started to look at the business end (don't want to be unprepared when I get my certificate!) Hopefully I'll be able to 'open' in about a year to a year and a half. I've been working on a business plan, estimating costs, finding suppliers, etc.

I've been trying to find out what it means to be "legal" in South Carolina. Are there any CCers out there who have done this? Care to share any helps or hints?

I've also been really interested in the commercial kitchen for rent idea (I have cats, so cooking out of the home is pretty much out). In all the searches I've done, (how many ways can you say "kitchen for rent" in google??) I've not found any that are available in the Charleston SC area.

One thought I've had is to expand my original bakery concept so that I have my kitchen, but also have the space to rent out to other part time chefs/cooks. My question here is - how would be the best way to find out if there is a need for rentable kitchens? I thought about making a post on craigslist or something, but since I don't ahve the facilities at this time, it feels like I'd be leading people on. Does that even make any sense?? icon_lol.gif

Well, if anyone has any insight, I'm all ears!

Ad-Thanks-Vance.

~~Jim

2 replies