Ok, So I Know This Isn't Pie Central But....

Decorating By jessieb578 Updated 26 Jun 2008 , 6:03am by amysue99

jessieb578 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jessieb578 Posted 23 Jun 2008 , 10:58pm
post #1 of 14

I got an order for 3 cakes...I have no experience with cakes except for apple pie - which is the best (aren't we all the best apple pie bakers icon_lol.gif )

But I got asked for Peach, Cherry and Strawberry Rubarb (yuk!)

Would any of you experienced bakers please direct me where to start?? Do you know of any great places to look for recipes?

13 replies
gottabakenow Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
gottabakenow Posted 23 Jun 2008 , 11:11pm
post #2 of 14

try recipezaar.com

also-
allrecipes.com although i like recipezaar better.

HTH

TC123 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TC123 Posted 24 Jun 2008 , 1:03am
post #3 of 14

Hi! You may also want to try Epicurious.com. I have heard that there are some good recipes there. I just did a query for peach pie, for example, and found 34 recipes. icon_smile.gif

Texas_Rose Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Texas_Rose Posted 24 Jun 2008 , 1:50am
post #4 of 14

For cherry pie, start with a couple of cans of cherry pie filling! icon_lol.gif (seriously, it doesn't come out too pretty when it's made with fresh)

Do you know about blanching the peaches? It's one of the best tricks. Boil a big pan of water. Once it boils, turn off the heat and drop your peaches in. Let them sit about five minutes, then drop them into a bowl of ice water (with ice cubes in, it needs to be really cold). The peach skins will all just slip off.

And here's my pie crust recipe. It's really light and flaky and cheaper than the crisco kind too.

2 cups flour
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup oil
5 tablespoons ice water