Stacking Cakes....help, Please

Decorating By 2sisters_mc Updated 20 Jun 2008 , 6:50pm by tiggy2

2sisters_mc Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
2sisters_mc Posted 20 Jun 2008 , 4:43pm
post #1 of 8

Ok....I have to do a graduation cake for tomorrow and everything is going good....I made the cakes and Swiss Buttercream icing....the cakes are supossed to look like stacked books. So here is a question to all of you bakers with some experience with stacking cakes: I have the dowel rods, but when I stack the cakes does there need to be a cake board under it?, If I am using the Swiss Buttercream when I stack the cakes, will it squish the icing out from underneath? This is my first attempt at stacking and I'm a bit nervous, so any advice would be a lot of help. Thanks!

7 replies
Beckalita Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Beckalita Posted 20 Jun 2008 , 4:53pm
post #2 of 8

Yes, each "book" should have it's own cake board. If you support each cake correctly, the icing should not squish out ~ because the weight of each cake is on the dowels, not the cake below it.

SugarBakerz Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SugarBakerz Posted 20 Jun 2008 , 4:56pm
post #3 of 8

never done stacked books, but I would consider using some support between each book, otherwise there is no stopping point for the cutter to go off of. You could email CAMBO (she doesn't come on much anymore but still has a member ID) she has done a couple of these and they are awesome. If you go to her member info and there isn't an email, check her website. WWW.cleverconfections.com Her photos should be on there and I know there is a link to contact her.

Cakebelle Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Cakebelle Posted 20 Jun 2008 , 5:00pm
post #4 of 8