Shared Space In A Rented Kitchen Vs A Home Bakery?

Business By cakesbydesiree Updated 25 Jun 2008 , 2:41am by cakesbydesiree

cakesbydesiree Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakesbydesiree Posted 20 Jun 2008 , 4:21pm
post #1 of 6

I am fairly new at the cake decorating scene. I started with my first class four years ago. I accomplished my first wedding cake three years ago. Then my work schedule made it difficult to continue with the cake world. Until now. I only work my day job Mon, Tues, Wed. Makes it handy to do cakes for Saturday weddings extra.

I have wedding in July and in Sept lined up already. I feel like I have lots to learn still. I don't have much in a portfolio to show people at the moment, so I am only charging people what it costs me to make the cakes. I figure experience is worth a lot in the long run.

To get to the point. I have a friend at church who may have an opportunity to rent some space in a building, his friend is setting up a law firm in. He has always wanted to have a desert shop. He makes things like truffles and cheese cakes, ets. He asked me this last week if I would be interested in sharing the rent and kitchen space with him.

At first I was very excited about the offer. Now I am a bit overwhelmed. Reasons are:
-I have a lot to learn still
-the gas prices make me want to work from my home kitchen instead.
-I am not sure I am ready for the demands of having a bakery in town.

It will be a few months before the building would be ready for us to move in. I have some time to think on it. I have not given him a definate answer yet, so I am not committed at this point.

We plan on adding on to our house within the next year or two. Which will include a new kitchen. I can't wait! I was hoping to have the kitchen made in such a way that I could have it liscenced as a home bakery.