Is It Just Me...

Decorating By kaytdid516 Updated 19 Jun 2008 , 7:29pm by wendysue

kaytdid516 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kaytdid516 Posted 19 Jun 2008 , 4:12pm
post #1 of 8

I recevied a box of Wilton Pure White Rolled Fondant as a gift. Now, I've read post after post of how bad it tastes, but it didn't taste bad at all - a little sweet but not bad that I wouldn't use it again.

I am new at all of this so maybe I have a "virgin" taste for fondant (you all know what I mean) but honestly I was expecting this horrible, taste like paste sort of thing, I was plesently surprised!

Am I alone here?

7 replies
deeb173 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
deeb173 Posted 19 Jun 2008 , 4:48pm
post #2 of 8

Wilton isn't the best. Especially if you have made you own marshmallow fondant...it's so much better. But I do like to mix the Wilton with white chocolate fondant and that makes the chocolate more plyable and it still tastes good.

TexasSugar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TexasSugar Posted 19 Jun 2008 , 5:33pm
post #3 of 8

My SIL loves Wilton fondant. Any time I use it for something (cow's leg, bow loops) she picks that off and eats it. Persoanlly I don't think Wilton fondant tastes bad, it's just sweet with out much other taste.

I think people either read that it is horrible and take on that opinion for themselves or they don't like the texture but don't know how to describe that. When I have students come back after we do the fondant cake and say they didn't like it 3/4ths of them are because of the texture (the chewiness) and not the taste of fondant.

I do think there are some that just don't like it, like there are some that don't like MMF. Everyone does have their own tastes, but I think alot of the times people's opinions are jaded but what they have read or heard about fondant in general.

LeanneW Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LeanneW Posted 19 Jun 2008 , 6:10pm
post #4 of 8