Edible Photo Advice

Decorating By stlcakelady Updated 23 Jun 2008 , 7:08pm by auntginn

stlcakelady Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
stlcakelady Posted 19 Jun 2008 , 2:42pm
post #1 of 16

I've never used edible photos before...icing sheet printed from a printer. We have a cake supply store that will print one up for you. Any tips on how to apply to a cake? Any advice is appreciated!

15 replies
crisc23 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
crisc23 Posted 19 Jun 2008 , 3:16pm
post #2 of 16

You can just apply it directly on your buttercream icing. Make sure it is still a little tacky and not too crusted over. The image will then "melt" into the buttercream a bit.

I always put my edible images on fondant then lay that on my buttercream. It seems to keep the image looking crisp and clear longer as it doesnt "melt" into the icing. I just roll out my piece of fondant the size I want it and wipe it with a lightly damp paper towel then apply the image. Since the fondant is a tiny bit damp, the image adheres to it. Then I use an xacto knife to trim the fondant around the edges of the image and lay that all on my cake.

buttercream_dreams Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
buttercream_dreams Posted 19 Jun 2008 , 5:56pm
post #3 of 16

i have never done the fondant first application method..however i have/do lay edible images on buttercream without any problems, just make sure that you dont let the image sit out in the air (dry out) and dont peel it off the backing until you are about to apply it, otherwise it will crack. i also make sure it is smooth by running an angled spatula (or clean/greasefree fingers) across the entire image directly after applying it, to rid it of any air bubbles or bumps. hth.

AlamoSweets Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
AlamoSweets Posted 20 Jun 2008 , 4:52am
post #4 of 16