Questions On Getting Started

Business By tootie0809 Updated 19 Jun 2008 , 10:27pm by snarkybaker

tootie0809 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tootie0809 Posted 19 Jun 2008 , 1:51pm
post #1 of 3

I hope to one day soon be able to run a cake business out of my home, but I am really new to all of this. I have been taking some Wilton Classes and practicing, practicing, practicing my baking. I'm not working full time right now, so I am using all my extra free time to learn how to bake better, researching decorating ideas, practicing the lessons I've learned, trying to teach myself from various books, etc. There is so much to know about the world of cake decorating that my head spins sometimes. I've thought about going to baking school, but it is very expensive and the only baking program offered in my area is for pastry and desserts and I really just want to focus on cake baking. Anyway, I am rambling here. I would love to hear some of your experiences and how you got to where you are at running your own business.

Do you have formal baking training?
How did you get into cake decorating? Was it a hobby first?
How many of you started out with the goal of becoming a professional cake decorator and how did you get there? (What types of training did you take, etc.?)

Sorry for so many questions. Thanks in advance for any help! icon_smile.gif

2 replies
JoAnnB Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JoAnnB Posted 19 Jun 2008 , 6:34pm
post #2 of 3

Many highly successful cake decorators are not culinary school graduates. Lessons in various skills are usually very helpful. You can refine recipes for your business, without going to school. If you can learn from books, there are many. there are also great videos from skilled professionals.