Nfsc....without The Eggs

Baking By Eileenscakes Updated 23 Jun 2008 , 2:57pm by snowshoe1

Eileenscakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Eileenscakes Posted 18 Jun 2008 , 7:09pm
post #1 of 9

I am pretty new to the cake decorating world and would like to try my hand at cookie decorating but have one problem...my son is very allergic to eggs so I try to make everything without them. Cakes have not been a problem, a little tweeking of vegan recipes has worked but I am not sure if it would with cookies. I would like to be able to make a cookie that does not spread while baking so shortbread is out....any suggestions??

Thanks for you help! icon_biggrin.gif

8 replies
JoAnnB Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JoAnnB Posted 18 Jun 2008 , 7:21pm
post #2 of 9

You should be able to use an egg substitute-health food sections have it. Be sure it says 'no actual egg product'.

I think the recipe needs the moisture and protein from the egg.

Eileenscakes Posted 18 Jun 2008 , 7:38pm
post #3 of 9

Thanks JoAnn, I do have some of the egg replacer but I am finding that it does not stick stuff together as well as an egg would.

I was hoping someone had already done all the trial and error with this one and could pass along the recipe!!

I have also substitued baby applesauce in some of the recipes I have tried for one egg but any more than that it does not seem to work.

Back to the drawing board for me (oh well, they always taste good even if they don't stick toghther and the kids love it when I am in my trial and error mode!!! lol)

JoAnnB Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JoAnnB Posted 18 Jun 2008 , 7:42pm
post #4 of 9

sometimes the NFSC recipe needs a bit more moisture. I might add a bit more butter than called for in the recipe tomake up for the fats in the egg. then, if needed, a few drops of water. You can't really do much harm.

ziggytarheel Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ziggytarheel Posted 18 Jun 2008 , 7:51pm
post #5 of 9