Gum Paste Flowers Coming Out Limp

Decorating By Mamaelf Updated 16 Jun 2008 , 11:16pm by Mamaelf

Mamaelf Posted 16 Jun 2008 , 3:31pm
post #1 of 11

I am new to making gum paste flowers, I was pleased as everhting seemed to be going along fine. Now that I am making the actually petals they seem to be too limp. Not quite sure what to do. My first thought is more sugar? Any help would sure be appreciated.

10 replies
cheeseball Posted 16 Jun 2008 , 3:50pm
post #2 of 11

If it's not holding its shape at all, you may need to knead in some additional powdered sugar (hey, I just wrote it's and its and then need and knead icon_lol.gif yes, I know I'm strange) - the more you do it, you'll learn what consistency you prefer. I find that adding sugar as you go makes it easier to work with rather than all at once so that it doesn't end up too dry

ibmoser Posted 16 Jun 2008 , 3:55pm
post #3 of 11

You need to let the individual petals dry a bit before assembling the flowers. Depending on which flower you are making and the technique you are using, sometimes you want them completely dry before assembling, other times they just need to dry enough to hold their shape so that you can fit them together more easily. I live in a very humid area, so I sometimes have to put mine in a food dehydrator to dry them out enough to hold the shape I need. I also sometimes add extra tylose to my gumpaste to make it dry more quickly. Adding extra sugar really doesn't help me.

Mamaelf Posted 16 Jun 2008 , 4:32pm
post #4 of 11

Ok, I will try both of those and see what happens. I am ending up with limp noodles,lol. icon_cry.gif I watched the video on youtube and her's stood right up so figured that would happen with mine. At the moment I am working on the calla lily and then need to do roses.

Thank you both for your help, say do not worry about the spelling I am the world's worst.

Using a dehydrator is a good tip also. Well, back to trying and thank you again. thumbs_up.gif