Perfect Round Cakes

Business By kharvey Updated 16 Jun 2008 , 9:14pm by cheeseball

kharvey Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kharvey Posted 16 Jun 2008 , 2:44am
post #1 of 16

I have been decorating for 8 years now and have NEVER been able to get a round cake to have even edges. Please see the picture below. The edges are dipped in our jutting out. I hope that I am explaining this well, I'm not exactly sure how to word my explanation. When I look at cakes in the local bakeries, even the grocery stores, their edges are nice, crisp and even. Please help!!
LL

15 replies
LeanneW Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LeanneW Posted 16 Jun 2008 , 2:54am
post #2 of 16

hmm, that cake looks pretty good to me, but I see what you mean on the bottom righand middle right side.

Is the cake underneath uneven or just your frosting?

If it is the frosting there are many demonstrations on how to get smooth buttercream on you tube. I personally like to frost the top first, pushing the frosting over the edges. Then I frost the side and I end up with extra sticking up above the cake. Then I pull in toward the center of the cake to smooth the extra stickeing up. does this make any sense.

There are definately people on here who are more expert and could probably give you better directions.

brogi2baker Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
brogi2baker Posted 16 Jun 2008 , 2:59am
post #3 of 16

I use a drywall spackle knife, the 4-5 inch size. It is SO much easier to ice and get a smooth look. best cake tool I own and got it at home depot for $5.

littlecake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
littlecake Posted 16 Jun 2008 , 4:19am
post #4 of 16

do you use the icer tip?

Mike1394 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Mike1394 Posted 16 Jun 2008 , 11:05am
post #5 of 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by brogi2baker

I use a drywall spackle knife, the 4-5 inch size. It is SO much easier to ice and get a smooth look. best cake tool I own and got it at home depot for $5.