Cookie Pop Questions

Baking By hallfamily727 Updated 22 Jun 2008 , 3:13am by hallfamily727

hallfamily727 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
hallfamily727 Posted 12 Jun 2008 , 1:50pm
post #1 of 24

Ok, so I'm terrified b/c I have never done these before and they need to look spectacular. I'm doing a cookie bouquet plus a side of cookies not on a stick for a non-profit organization dedicated to helping kids (www.scstars.com) on the 21st of June and I have a TON of questions. Any help would be appreciated. I am planning on using the No Fail Sugar Cookie recipe, then decorating with MMF.

1. Was thinking of insterting the sticks right after they came out of the oven. Is this the easiest/best way to do it? I've read that the easiest thing to do is put the MMF cutouts on the cookies at this time, too.

2. What type of sticks should I use? All I've found so far are the white lollipop ones from Wilton. Do I need to look for wooden ones instead?

3. I plan on doing MMF fondant on the cookies that I will paint. But what can I use for other accents? The cookies I am planning on are horses, horse shoes, barns, and cowboy hats. What should I use for things like the horse manes, nails in the horseshoes, etc?

Thanks for all your help!

Carrie

23 replies
mawagner Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mawagner Posted 12 Jun 2008 , 2:28pm
post #2 of 24

Welcome to CC! Here are some answers to your questions...and I'm sure others will pop on with additional info.

1. If you have a lot of cookies to make takes up less space to put the sticks in after they bake...tht way you can bake more cookies at a time. The fondant can go on at that time too. You can also put the fondant on after the cookies have cooled, but will need a little corn syrup to make it stick.

2. As for sticks, I usually use bamboo skewers just because they are cheap. The lollipop sticks will work just fine, though.