Ok So How Realistic Is It To Make Your Own Wedding Cake?

Decorating By kayleighlovesjacob Updated 23 Jun 2008 , 4:28pm by sweetsbyJ

kayleighlovesjacob Posted 11 Jun 2008 , 4:42pm
post #1 of 21

I am new to cake decorating, and have a lot of learning to do, but I'd really like to do my own wedding cake... but everyone keeps telling me "noooo don't it's too stressful blah, blah, blah" but I'm sure others have, right? and I'll I want is something rather simple and small... so I guess what I'm asking is has anyone done this? any tips or advice good and bad or if it really isn't worth the time and stress...

20 replies
tiggy2 Posted 11 Jun 2008 , 5:12pm
post #2 of 21

It all depends on the person, the design, how much you can do ahead of time, how much freezer space you have, will you have time to set it up the day of the wedding, etc. It can be very stressful but people have done it. How well do you handle stress?

mbelgard Posted 11 Jun 2008 , 5:55pm
post #3 of 21

I made my sister's wedding cake and was glad I wasn't in the wedding party. It was my first wedding cake. Now that my brother is engaged I've told them that I'll do the cake but they can't expect me to have any other responsibilities that day.

I would never make my own wedding cake. There's too much stuff going on for the bride to not be rushed doing the cake.

If you're new to decorating that will make it even harder on you.

There are people who pull it off of course but I don't know how great an idea that is.

vmertsock Posted 11 Jun 2008 , 6:26pm
post #4 of 21