Where I Can Find Non Dairy Whipping Cream

Decorating By vita752001 Updated 12 Jun 2008 , 1:47am by auntginn

vita752001 Posted 10 Jun 2008 , 8:48pm
post #1 of 11

I am not really sure where I can find non dairy whipping cream. Is it in the fridge section next to the regular heavy whipping cream? I know that there are some ready to use non dairy whipping cream in the frozen area. But I am looking for the one I can make it from scratch. I heard that non dairy whipping cream taste better than the heavy whipping cream.

10 replies
SugarplumStudio Posted 10 Jun 2008 , 9:13pm
post #2 of 11

The regular supermarkets around me usually have it in the freezer section, either with the frozen fruit/coo whip or with kosher items, since most non dairy whipped toppings are kosher.

auntginn Posted 10 Jun 2008 , 10:37pm
post #3 of 11

In most of the stores I buy mine from, it is placed in the frozen dairy case. I usually buy mine from Smart & Final.

Bellatheball Posted 11 Jun 2008 , 1:21am
post #4 of 11

Isn't that the same as Cool Whip??

auntginn Posted 11 Jun 2008 , 3:42am
post #5 of 11

I don't use that brand because it is already whipped. I like to whip my own and I can whip it to my consistency.

vita752001 Posted 11 Jun 2008 , 4:14pm
post #6 of 11

I like to whip my own too, but I just wondering if there is a non dairy one that I can whip (not the ready to use one).

auntginn Posted 11 Jun 2008 , 5:11pm
post #7 of 11

Yes, that's what Pastry Pride, Rich's Bettercream and Whip N Top are. At places like Smart & Final or Restuarant Supplies Stores you can find them in the frozen sections and they are frozen. They are NOT pre-whipped. You thaw in your fridge and then whip to suit your needs.

vita752001 Posted 11 Jun 2008 , 5:33pm
post #8 of 11

Thank you sooooo much Auntginn...I cannot wait to try it...hopefully the taste will be close to the real one. I'm making a cake for my friend who alergic to milk.

auntginn Posted 11 Jun 2008 , 5:38pm
post #9 of 11

Your welcome. This will work just fine, I know because my grandkids have had so many allergies including milk and they will not eat anybodies cake because of that.

Hope your friend enjoys her birthday, she will enjoy your labor of love.

ljhow623 Posted 11 Jun 2008 , 5:40pm
post #10 of 11

I went looking for these about a month ago and discovered that Richâs bettercream does contain milk ingredients. You have to look carefully at the ingredients as it's not spelled out but does contain casein, which is a milk derivative.

auntginn Posted 12 Jun 2008 , 1:47am
post #11 of 11

Wow, you learn something everyday. I did not know that. Thank you for sharing.

Quote by @%username% on %date%

%body%