Bar Codes

Business By GeminiRJ Updated 9 Jun 2008 , 12:38pm by Mike1394

GeminiRJ Posted 7 Jun 2008 , 6:20pm
post #1 of 12

Do any of you sell products that you have created that require bar codes? I'm wondering if I need one to sell my cookie cutter kits. Maybe that's only if I sell wholesale to someone who plans to sell them retail? I woke up in the middle of the night thinking what an idiot I am for not thinking of this sooner. Is it a painful process to get the bar code? I would appreciate any adivce on this!

11 replies
BigTexinWV Posted 7 Jun 2008 , 6:42pm
post #2 of 12

Not an expert on this, but I would assume that if a retail store wanted a bar code on a product then they normally have the equipment for it. I was a manager a Target for a short stint, and we had a computer program they we could use to make barcodes to enter in to the system then print them off. I really don't think that it would be very difficult to buy a computer program to make barcodes if that was what you really wanted to do.

southerncake Posted 7 Jun 2008 , 6:48pm
post #3 of 12

In NC, you can request barcodes from the Dept of Ag. I very seriously doubt if you will need them. If you sell to a shop that uses them, they probably already have the means to create their own barcode. I don't think you have anything to worry about!

FromScratch Posted 9 Jun 2008 , 2:48am
post #4 of 12

A lot of cake shops don't have barcodes on their merchandise, or if there are barcodes.. they don't use them. I know my local cake store doesn't have a scanner they just type the amount in the register. They will re-label it with their own system so I wouldn't worry about it.

Mike1394 Posted 9 Jun 2008 , 8:46am
post #5 of 12

If you need a barcode you have bigger worries than just a barcode. It's a good worry though icon_biggrin.gif . A customer isn't going to want a barcode for 10 cutters. They will want one for 1000 though. Can you produce that many?

Mike

southerncake Posted 9 Jun 2008 , 11:33am