Wedding Cake--- In Over My Head Maybe???

Decorating By kidscakelady Updated 6 Jun 2008 , 8:50pm by ccr03

kidscakelady Posted 6 Jun 2008 , 8:13pm
post #1 of 5

So, I had told a secretary at work that I would make her some dessert cakes for her wedding (second one- first husband died years ago) in July and that I would do a small wedding cake for her. I have always said..."I don't do weddings (mostly because I told my DH that I wouldn't) She came over the other night to discuss details etc.

As we are talking, she says that now she really would like a full size wedding cake and not all of the smaller ones. We talk and I think that I can do what she wants but since I have never done a cake like this before, am now second guessing myself.

Need some advice from those who do weddings....

She wants between 150-180 servings of cake----

We decided on a 3 tiered stacked cake 16", 12", 8" I came up with 180 servings for this using Wilton's this right??

If I do this, how many dowels do you think I should put through the thing??

Should I also put the bubble straws?

I am really excited about doing this but am also SCARED to DEATH ! I think that my decorating skills have really improved (with the help of all you wonderful CC'ers) and the design she wants is really plain and simple- that doesn't scare me, it's the whole serving/stacking thing.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

PS- My DH wasn't too happy when I told him that I agreed to do it, that is until he heard how much $$$$ I was charging.

4 replies
ccr03 Posted 6 Jun 2008 , 8:23pm
post #2 of 5

The 16/12/8 sounds like right combo. According to Earlene's chart, which is what I use, its enough for 155. So, combining the two it give you a 150-180 range.

Secondly, I would use Wilton's plastic dowels on the bottom layer and then the straw on the second - that's would be for my well-being.

Thirdly, I'd would hammer down a wooden dowel straight down the middle. If need be add another.

Good luck and congrats!!!