Fondant Over Bc

Decorating By lnewby Updated 6 Jun 2008 , 6:21pm by amandamotley

lnewby Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lnewby Posted 6 Jun 2008 , 5:53pm
post #1 of 4

I am new to cake decorating and have never used fondant. I found a cake design I want to make for a baby shower and it is covered in fondant. It also has fondant people on top. I am a little intimitated by all the fondant. Could you put the fondant people to a cake frosted in buttercream? Also, what is the best way to color fondant?

3 replies
vdrsolo Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
vdrsolo Posted 6 Jun 2008 , 6:19pm
post #2 of 4

Most people do put buttercream under the fondant because you need something for the fondant to stick to. Others may use glazes, etc.

The best way to color fondant is to put on some gloves (you hands will get dye on them), and add a little color at a time and knead it in. I use Satin Ice but for those who make their own marshmallow fondant will add some of the dye while making the fondant. The only thing to be careful is that you may add too much.

Edited to add:
I misread the question, I thought the OP was asking if you can put a fondant covering (not the people) over a buttercream cake.

I use a crusting buttercream, and when I add fondant accents to a cake I slightly wet the buttercream where the fondant will be placed.

awolf24 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
awolf24 Posted 6 Jun 2008 , 6:19pm
post #3 of 4

Sure - you can always add fondant accents to a cake that is mainly covered in BC.