Pricing Charts

Decorating By melsie43 Updated 2 Oct 2009 , 3:44am by CarolAnn

melsie43 Posted 5 Jun 2008 , 2:38pm
post #1 of 11

Does anyone know of a pricing chart for making cakes as a hobby not a business. I don't want to over charge because there is alot of people that can't afford a nice cake but would like to have one. I'm not a professional
at making them but still do a good job and don't want to undercut myself.
I live in Arkansas.
Thanks

10 replies
KHalstead Posted 5 Jun 2008 , 6:14pm
post #2 of 11

you just have to make your own! I made mine on Microsoft office excel or something

I can email you mine if you'd like to see how it's set up?
I just called around and figured out what everyone else was charging to base my prices...turns out now I'm more expensive than them but hey I'm busy enough, so I don't see a need to lower my prices just yet. When I first started (about a yr. ago) I priced everything similarly to the other "bakeries" (not wal-mart) then after making them for a while certain things took more time so I charge more for them and so on. I also have things I offer that the other "bakers" don't do...like 3-d/carved cakes and topsy turvy cakes so I set my own price for that. You'll get a feeling by YOUR area on what you can and can't charge and then once you figure out what the NORMAL charge is, figure out if it's profitable for you and if you can live with the profit. I charge more than other bakers for my sheet cakes (almost double what they charge) but I won't do them for a 4 or 5 dollar profit.......I still only make about 15-20 dollars on each one, but I can live with that!

susanscakecreations Posted 5 Jun 2008 , 8:18pm
post #3 of 11

Hi KHalstead!
I'm new at this thing too, so could you email me your chart????
I am in the process of making a cake for a retirement party for a friend, and he wants to pay me for the cake, and I am at a loss as to what to charge him!!!!! icon_smile.gif

Thanks!
Susan

mrstephanie Posted 10 Jun 2008 , 12:48am