Fee For Samples And Tasting?

Baking By zoraya Updated 5 Jun 2008 , 11:47pm by yankeegal

zoraya Posted 4 Jun 2008 , 7:21pm
post #1 of 12

I just got a call today. Customer wants to see and taste some samples of wedding favor cookies and bridal gift cookies. Would you normally charge for this? I'm thinking yes but don't know how much. It would probably be 4-6 4" cookies plus a couple of cupcakes too for a cake tasting. TIA!

11 replies
indydebi Posted 4 Jun 2008 , 7:53pm
post #2 of 12

You do samplings for cookies? icon_confused.gif

If she wants to "sample" cookies, I'm happy to sell her a dozen or whatever my minimum is.

I also have ONE recipe for these kinds of cookies, so doing 4 or 5 cookies doesn't make sense to me.

zoraya Posted 4 Jun 2008 , 8:36pm
post #3 of 12

no, I guess it doesn't make sense thats why I'm reaching out to all you experts. I've never done this before so I wasn't sure. They've never had my cookies before so I guess they want to know what they taste like. How would you handle this? Make one just for tasting and then pictures or sketches of design ideas? Help me, I'm a newbie at this. :cry

eta - I only do one cookie flavor too - NFSC w/ Antonia RI. I guess really they want to see what I can do.

indydebi Posted 4 Jun 2008 , 8:47pm
post #4 of 12

If you have a cookie that she can taste while she's there for a cake sampling anyway, I don't see a problem with that. I just wouldn't set up a sampling if all she wants is a cookie.

It's like I tell my brides when they sample my cakes .... here's a piece of my cake so you can see what my baking tastes like ... here's my books with pics that show you the work I can do.