I Need Some Help From All You Talented Decoraters...

Decorating By ashcake Updated 4 Jun 2008 , 5:09pm by hallow3

ashcake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ashcake Posted 4 Jun 2008 , 1:22am
post #1 of 10

I have a birthday cake to do. This is for my 3 SIL's. There birthdays fall from June 9 to June 20. So I'm needing to do one cake for all three. I have NO idea what to do. They are all moms. They really don't care what I do. Most of them say try new things with it (I just starte decorating last Oct). But I just don't know what to do. It don't need to be a huge cake. I will probably be taking this with us for vacation, so it needs to be able to travel completed. Anyone have any ideas?

TIA!

9 replies
hallow3 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
hallow3 Posted 4 Jun 2008 , 1:33am
post #2 of 10

I am no expert, but you could do a sheet cake with a motif of each of the SIL hobby's incorporated into a patchwork,or I would love to try the flowerpot cake that is on this site. Do you tried or like to do fondant?or just buttercream designs? What are some of you SIL's hobbies? Trying to help.

Texas_Rose Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Texas_Rose Posted 4 Jun 2008 , 1:39am
post #3 of 10

If you want something simple, you could make a sheet cake with three balloons in different colors (either piped on or fondant cutouts), and write each SIL's name on one of the balloons, then put Happy Birthday across the bottom. If you use fondant for the balloons, cut a few narrow strips and twist them, then use those as the strings for the balloons. You wouldn't have to do the usual colors (you're probably picturing red, yellow and blue right now) but three shades of purple or three shades of pink would look nice too.

ashcake Posted 4 Jun 2008 , 1:21pm
post #4 of 10