Pricing Cakes

Business By Kellotess Updated 4 Jun 2008 , 10:49pm by FromScratch

Kellotess Posted 3 Jun 2008 , 6:21pm
post #1 of 11

I hate to ask this, but I am new to all of this and have in the past just made cakes for family. Now I am getting a lot of requests from other people and I am going insane. I LOVE baking and making the cakes, but the pricing of them is giving me massive headaches! Can anyone tell me a basic outline of what to charge people? I know there is a matrix on this site, but I do not understand it at all. I am the type of person who needs flat out numbers to start with. I would really really appreciate anyone that can help me with this! Thanks!!!

10 replies
sweetcravings Posted 3 Jun 2008 , 6:25pm
post #2 of 11

I'd love to see some people's pricing lists too. Your not the only one struggling in this department.
I've read people say to call around and see what others are charging but i've tried that and all i get is, "it all depends on the cake" response. They say i have to come in and then they can give me a price. Even when i say something like a basic buttercream cake, i get the same response..gesh.

jennifer7777 Posted 3 Jun 2008 , 6:34pm
post #3 of 11

http://www.wilton.com/wedding/cakeinfo/cakedata.cfm

This is the Wilton servings chart. I would use this as a pricing guideline. Figure out how much you want to charge per serving, taking into account the average costs of things where you live.
I would say somewhere between $1.50-$3.00 per serving to start.
From there, look on the chart to see the size cake you are offering, and multiply the # of servings by your price.

Ex: If you are selling the 6-inch round...serves 12...your cost per serving $1.50 x 12=$18.00(your price)

The key with pricing is, you want to charge for the total amount of servings you can get out of the cake, and offer your customers options as to how to cut it.