Why Can't I Just Do This??

Decorating By froggyqueen Updated 3 Jun 2008 , 3:48pm by playingwithsugar

froggyqueen Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
froggyqueen Posted 3 Jun 2008 , 3:20pm
post #1 of 11

I'm still new to this but I'm not sure why you can't use buttercream icing to do a transfer the way you would a royal transfer? What's with all the doing it in reverse and flipping it? What would happen if I used buttercream and let it set a long time to make sure it dried or even put it in the freezer and peeled it off the paper and applied right side up?
Thanks!

10 replies
CakeDiva73 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CakeDiva73 Posted 3 Jun 2008 , 3:23pm
post #2 of 11

You can - it's called a FBCT (frozen buttercream transfer) icon_smile.gif

aliciag Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
aliciag Posted 3 Jun 2008 , 3:27pm
post #3 of 11
Quote:
Quote:

What's with all the doing it in reverse and flipping it?

It just makes it smoother and more even this way but I guess you don't have to. icon_smile.gif

froggyqueen Posted 3 Jun 2008 , 3:28pm
post #4 of 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by CakeDiva73

You can - it's called a FBCT (frozen buttercream transfer) icon_smile.gif

The one I saw you had to make it upside down and freeze it and then flip it over to add it to the cake.

all4cake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
all4cake Posted 3 Jun 2008 , 3:28pm
post #5 of 11

Most times, a smooth finish can't be achieved with buttercream as it can with a flow-in technique using royal or color flow. It gets turned over to expose the smoother finish. If you can achieve a suface finish that is acceptable to you(even star fill-in would be nice if using a small enough tip), then, it can be used just as piped....without inverting it.

diane Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
diane Posted 3 Jun 2008 , 3:29pm
post #6 of 11

you can do it the way you do a royal icing one, but it won't be smooth. that's the reason why you flip it, so you will get the smooth side on your cake.