???'s About A Cake That Soured?

Decorating By Cakery Updated 4 Jun 2008 , 11:15am by michellenj

Cakery Posted 2 Jun 2008 , 5:20pm
post #1 of 22

Okay...had a customer that called me this morning. I made a sheet cake for her daughter....the gal picked it up on Saturday morning. They had it on Sunday afternoon. I told her it would be best if she kept it in the fridge till the party time. I baked it on Friday afternoon.....decorated and put in my cooler. So the cake was chilled. She told me that they had to throw the cake out.....cause it had a SOURED taste to it. Was a plain white cake. I asked her all kinds of ???'s too.....did she leave it in the car after she left my shop.....she said no....but she does live in a town about 20 miles away.....so she could have went shopping, etc. Did she have it in the trunk of her car? I asked her if she put it in the fridge when she got home....she said no....but it was right by the air-conditioner. I have been doing cakes for over 30 years....and never one time has anyone called back and said the cake had a sour smell or taste to it??? I have heard of a chemical reaction that when a cake sits in a hot place....then cooled down....it can cause the alcohol in the vanilla to ferment.....so wondered if anyone else has ever had a problem with this??? I sure never have and it's buggin' the crap out of me. And it's the customer's word saying she didn't leave it in the car, etc...but she did say she left it sitting out but the house was cool. Please let me know if you have ever had to deal with this or not? I told her I will make her another cake....FREE OF CHARGE. She said they had to throw the cake out....here again.....I don't know that they did....but taking her word for it. But things like this can bug us decorators....and I've never had this problem in 30 years. Anyone else????

21 replies
leah_s Posted 2 Jun 2008 , 5:38pm
post #2 of 22

Never had a problem, nor have I ever heard of such a problem.