Newbie-Need A Little Advice On A Project! (Long, Sorry!)

Decorating By jespooky Updated 2 Jun 2008 , 9:39pm by FromScratch

jespooky Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jespooky Posted 2 Jun 2008 , 1:22am
post #1 of 14

HI all,
I'm pretty new to decorating (as you can tell from my photos)! I took on a project, that I have a few newbie questions on. The cake i am to make, is for my boss's retirement party...not until august so i have some time to practice. This is the idea so far..

6 in chocolate chip cake with hot fudge filling
8 inch chocolate cake with cookies and cream filling.
10 inch white cake with cream cheese filling and strawberries.

I was told by someone stacking the cakes with filling in them is not a great idea...and i got a little nervous. When doing tiered cakes is there only certain fillings that should be done due to sturdy-ness? I know about the dowels, and cake boards....and i will not be assembling the cake until i get to the party.

Also, any tips on doing a zebra stripe would be helpful, and making a whipped frosting just a little more dense to get smooth and workable FOR the zebra stripe would also be great! I'm only doing the top tier in the stripe. Thanks in advance for the help!! icon_smile.gif

13 replies
Karema Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Karema Posted 2 Jun 2008 , 1:29am
post #2 of 14

all the fillings look ok except for the hot fudge. Doesnt seel like a good idea. It may drip all over the cake. Try filling that include butter cream/whipped cream. Even fruit filling can be a little tricky. Put a light layer of butter cream on b4 the fruit so it doesnt seep into the next layer.

jespooky Posted 2 Jun 2008 , 1:46am
post #3 of 14

The hot fudge would have the filling dam, i tested this one out for taste wise and it was ok as far as drip wise. Defiantly good advice though!! The strawberries would be sliced up real strawberries in the cream cheese frosting filling.

jespooky Posted 2 Jun 2008 , 11:43am
post #4 of 14