Please Help With Ri Problem

Baking By Peeverly Updated 4 Jun 2008 , 12:23am by Peeverly

Peeverly Posted 31 May 2008 , 2:04pm
post #1 of 13

I am having a problem with my RI. When I have leftovers I leave it stored on the counter in a tupperware for a few days (maybe a week or so). When I am going to use it I put it back into my mixture and rewhip it because it has separated. The problem is that when I use it it never really hardens right. It becomes crumbly. The piping will break off and the flooded part can be dented. This has happened before to me. What am I doing wrong. Did I get a bad batch of merengue powder?? Please any ideas.

12 replies
bakinccc Posted 31 May 2008 , 8:21pm
post #2 of 13

I'm not an expert by any means, but I've dealt with that in the past too, especially if it's a darker color. To fix it I now refrigerate any leftover icing and the problem is completely gone. I also don't like the idea of it just sitting out at room temp even though people say you can do that. That's just me though. Hope that helps.

Sugar_Plum_Fairy Posted 31 May 2008 , 8:28pm
post #3 of 13

Thanks for that - asking the question, Peeverly - and the answer, bakinccc. I had the same problem myself. I thought it might have been the brand of powdered RI I bought.

Peeverly Posted 2 Jun 2008 , 12:20am
post #4 of 13

Thanks bakinccc. I'll try putting it in the fridge. I hate to throw out leftovers so if this does the trick then that would be great.

playingwithsugar Posted 2 Jun 2008 , 12:41am
post #5 of 13

No, sorry, but such is the nature of that particular beast.

Royal Icing can be used on subsequent days, after re-beating, but it is never, ever like it is the first day.

My suggestions - only make the amount you need, or put the leftover RI aside and use it to make decorated cookies.

Theresa icon_smile.gif

Sugar_Plum_Fairy Posted 2 Jun 2008 , 1:49am
post #6 of 13