What Would You Do??

Decorating By sunsecret Updated 13 Jun 2008 , 1:06pm by gabbycakes

sunsecret Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sunsecret Posted 31 May 2008 , 4:31am
post #1 of 15

Let lay the foundation.....I'm a beginner. I have only made cakes for family, all birthday's. Lots of Grandmas, you know, they will love you no matter what you make! thumbs_up.gif

I get an email at my "day job" out of the blue. Someone wants a wedding cake in 3 weeks. They send me a picture, see below. Ok, for a b'day caker, OH MY GOSH!!!! How can I....What will I...??????

I am in Rural Western Oklahoma, I layed out a charged of $300. Didn't hear anything for 1 week, to their defense their was a child death in the extended family. Got an email yesterday that they want me to do the cake! Again, OH MY GOSH!!!!!

First wedding cake, first non-family member, first paying job!! I'm freaking! Did I charge too little, too much? Am I stressing over nothing? When is a good time to start? The wedding is June 14th.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!! You all have wonderful ideas and are great with helping other people. I would love to hear others opinions!
LL

14 replies
wgoat5 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
wgoat5 Posted 31 May 2008 , 4:47am
post #2 of 15

First of all congrats!!!!

I think what you need to do is figure out how many people this needs to feed... fondant? or BC ? That is a major factor just in that area...

THEN you need to remember if your not used to working with a design that doesn't have a border around the edge then you have to practice up on the smoothing and leveling skill around the edges.. so it looks nice and clean... I am still scared of those.. I have realized the most simple looking cakes.. (little decorations) are the hardest!!! There isn't anything to hide the flaws icon_eek.gif

Good luck hun and keep us posted!

sunsecret Posted 31 May 2008 , 4:55am
post #3 of 15