How Can I Cover A Fondant Cake Smoothly Without Wrinkles??

Decorating By jenneeee Updated 30 May 2008 , 5:52pm by jenneeee

jenneeee Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jenneeee Posted 29 May 2008 , 11:56pm
post #1 of 7

Help! I recently started having a baking fetish and all I want to do is bake all day and every day!!

I've been having problems working with fondant and the way it lays on top of my cake. How can I lay the fondant down and make sure it doesn't have any wrinkles? Is it because I am still new at this or is there a trick to laying and stretching the fondant without it ripping?

I am also trying VERY hard to smooth out the icing on my cake by using my spatula and using VIVA paper towels afterwards but it doesnt seem to cut it for me. Any tips that can help me out on perfecting my cake to become smooth?

Everyone here seems to know how to smooth out their cakes. Please let me know if im not doing a great job or maybe this isnt cut for me. =[ Thanks so much!!! [/b]
LL

6 replies
SueBuddy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SueBuddy Posted 30 May 2008 , 1:10am
post #2 of 7

i have never used the paper towel method because I always use a non-crusting buttercream, but i smooth my cakes with a thin aluminum spakle spreader or paint guard (that you get in the hardware stores) and I wipe the edge off with a wet towel after every swipe.
The best way to get smooth fondant is to let the icing set up in the fridge for a couple hours (I like overnight, if possible) the roll fondant big enough to completely cover entire cake. Then use a piece of foam or your hand to smooth the fondant working from the middle of the cake smoothing out to the edges. Carefully lift up the sides and gently pull outward as you smooth across the top, this will let the air at. Then when top is smooth (you can use a pin to poke a hole in stubborn air bubbles to let the air out)smooth the sides by carefully pulling the fondant away and down near the bottom of the cake.