Oh Boy; Here We Go - 1St Time Making A Carved Cake

Decorating By arline Updated 28 May 2008 , 3:48am by arline

arline Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
arline Posted 27 May 2008 , 7:30pm
post #1 of 9

Whoa do I need some help! I'm making a personal life-sized "steak-cake" for my son's 33rd BD. It will replicate a raw porterhouse steak. I've printed out some pics to use as a guide. It will be approx. 10" long X 7" wide. I wrote to a Prof. cake maker of this and he wrote me back saying the cake (after being cut out) is cov'd with a reddish fondant base; fat and bone from modeling choc. I plan to use the recipe here for the MMF and I have a recipe for mod. choc. from here, also. I am a total beginner, never having touched fondant before, but have done watercolors and do have an artistic ability to copy things well. Here are my questions; pls. feel free to ans. those that you can:

1. Can I use the WASC recipe here for the cake (baked in a 13" X 9" pan, I guess)? Or, is there a diff. cake recipe I should use since I will be trimming it all around the perimeter in the proper shape? The cake will only be a single layer. I'm more concerned with the finished appearance than the taste, since I'll be serving his favorite dessert to everyone.

2. I have Wilton icing color paste, B. Crocker gel food coloring & reg. liq. food colorings. Are these okay to use for coloring the MMF and the mod. choc? I presume the Wilton is the ideal dye to use.

3. The party is this Sat.; how soon ahead can I make (& play with a little to practice) the MMF and the mod. choc.? Just keep both refrig. until ready to assemble on Friday, I'm planning??? Soften in micro a tad when ready?

4. Should I cover the cake 1st. with a crumb coat? If so, what recipe to use for that and then let it "crust over"?