Wht Does This Taste Like This?? Newbie!

Decorating By halaina Updated 27 May 2008 , 1:08pm by mjballinger

halaina Posted 26 May 2008 , 8:09pm
post #1 of 7

Hi,
Let me start by saying I LOVE THIS FORUM!! You all are so talented and the advice is priceless. With that being said this is my first post and I have been making cakes as a hobby for family for several years now. I had tried the wilton fondant and i'm sure you all know what I thought of that so I had always stuck with buttercream. I recently discovered this site and decided to try Michelle Fosters fondant. I just made it today and was surprised to discover that mine tastes just like powdered sugar. I have read such good things about this recipe and I followed it to a T. I know I didn't use too much Powdered sugar becasue when I was kneading it was still very sticky, not dry. Can anyone offer some advice? I even tried flavoring a small portion, but it didn't help much. I really wanted to use this for a cake for my MIL for her birthday. Thank you for any help.

6 replies
tippyad Posted 26 May 2008 , 9:35pm
post #2 of 7

I can't help w/ Michelle's recipe, but I thought I might direct you to try rolled buttercream (RBC). It gives the same look as fondant, but tastes much better, IMO.

http://www.cakecentral.com/cake_recipe-1603-0-Rolled-Buttercream-Icing-Recipe.html

Good Luck!

JoAnnB Posted 27 May 2008 , 6:21am
post #3 of 7

Welcome to Cake Central. Fondant, in general, tastes like sugar. Flavoring does help-lemon almond and many others that are colorless will help.

I hate clear vanilla (too fake) but you can also use it. However, since it is mostly powdered sugar, that is what some people taste.

It is so very subjective. Some love it, some hate it.

RBC (Rolled buttercream) is a bit harder to use, and it can be greasy. some say it tastes fabulous-like buttercream. Some say it tastes like grease.

You just have to try a few things until you find one that suits YOUR taste. Good Luck.