Something Interesting I Found Out About Fondant...

Baking By diane Updated 26 Jul 2008 , 4:19am by JanH

diane Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
13 replies
Dru329 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Dru329 Posted 26 May 2008 , 5:15am
post #2 of 14

Good info. Thanks!

shisharka Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
shisharka Posted 26 May 2008 , 5:45am
post #3 of 14

Fascinating!!! This is the first time Iâm actually thinking to myself âI can make my own fondant!!!ââ¦

I hate marshmallows, so no MMF here, and all the other fondant recipes Iâve seen are heavy on gelatin, a substance I donât really consider edible, or other bizarre additives⦠(My first two cakes were Wilton, then I graduated to Choco-Pan, then ended up buying 20LB of 3 different kinds of SatinIce based on the great feedback about it â yuk!!!, especially the black one, stunk up my pantry so bad, I had to store the pail double-bagged in the garage â so Iâm now back to Choco-Panâ¦None of that stuff ever gets eaten, in fact I often consider how easy it would be to pull it off the cake before serving, itâs just there for the sake of prettyâ¦)

But hey, cooking sugar to a soft ball stage â now THAT I can try â and I can live with the cream of tartar addition⦠Maybe the end result would actually be edible! Thanks a ton!!!

chutzpah Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
chutzpah Posted 26 May 2008 , 5:59am
post #4 of 14

I won't put meat in a cake either. Gelatin is just so gross.

Not all fondant brands contain gelatin. The brand I use is vegan. I don't make my own because its too time-consuming (and all homemade recipes I've seen contain meat).

I use about 800 pounds of fondant per year, so that would be just way too much time wasted mixing and kneading. I can't afford to spend that time on making it....or the wear and tear on my hands, arms, shoulders and back.

JoAnnB Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JoAnnB Posted 26 May 2008 , 6:19am
post #5 of 14