Need Some Tips... How Were These Done?

Baking By Katied75 Updated 24 May 2008 , 4:16pm by GeminiRJ

Katied75 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Katied75 Posted 24 May 2008 , 1:26am
post #1 of 13

Okay, I want to make some cookies for a family bbq this weekend. I found these on cake central and I love them. However, I've never done anything like this before. Can anybody give me pointers? Here's the questions I have so far:

1. What recipe would make the icing look this shiny?

2. What do you put the cookie sticks into to keep them held upright (is it just tissue paper or something more)?

3. How do you make the little white stars on the heart cookies?

And finally, what is a great sugar cookie recipe?

Thanks!

Katie

12 replies
kneadacookie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kneadacookie Posted 24 May 2008 , 1:34am
post #2 of 13

can you post a picture so we can see too

Katied75 Posted 24 May 2008 , 1:55am
post #3 of 13

Yep... you mean you can't see the picture in my head, lol? Don't know how I forgot but here's the link:

http://www.cakecentral.com/modules.php?name=gallery&file=displayimage&pid=731293

aundrea Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
aundrea Posted 24 May 2008 , 2:17am
post #4 of 13

wow! those are amazing cookies.
i dont have a clue, but would love to learn how they were made.
hopefully someone will respond.
****im sitting here, waiting**** icon_biggrin.gif

Texas_Rose Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Texas_Rose Posted 24 May 2008 , 2:29am
post #5 of 13

It said in the description that the frosting was done with this recipe: http://www.cakecentral.com/cake_recipe-2119-1-Toba-Garretts-Glace-Icing.html

You put the sticks into a styrofoam block. The tissue paper hides the styrofoam.

The little stars were probably done with a tip 13...the thinner icing for cookies will spread a bit, and make a flatter star than you'd get with that tip and buttercream.

Katied75 Posted 24 May 2008 , 2:31am
post #6 of 13