It's So Frustrating....

Decorating By twooten173 Updated 22 May 2008 , 5:13pm by imakecakes

twooten173 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
twooten173 Posted 20 May 2008 , 3:42am
post #1 of 30

when people call for a cake and don't give you any information about what the reciepent wants or likes. I get a lot of cakes like this and it's very difficult to decorate a generic cake - like the ones in the grocery store just sitting there waiting for someone to write a name on it. I have to come up with something tomorrow for a 14 year old whose favorite color is purple oh and they want a 1/4 sheet cake. icon_eek.gif Oh yeah that helps! Argh icon_mad.gif

29 replies
Ruth0209 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Ruth0209 Posted 20 May 2008 , 3:56am
post #2 of 30

I'm with you on that, sister!! I'm not very good at thinking up a design out of my head. I need SOMETHING to work with so I can at least come here and search for some good ideas to start with. Thank goodness for these galleries!! What's the point of a custom cake if it looks like a Costco cake, after all?!

Cakebelle Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Cakebelle Posted 20 May 2008 , 3:58am
post #3 of 30

I hate when that happens! icon_mad.gif

Lorendabug Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Lorendabug Posted 20 May 2008 , 4:00am
post #4 of 30

I know the feeling. My husband comes home from work last week and tells me a guy at work wants a Star Wars cake. Ok, so I ask what does he want on it a logo, characters, or what? He says he just wants Star Wars. Yah...and I want someone who can make a decision and tell me what they want! I hate having to play twenty questions to get someone to discover what it is they really want. But, alas that whole customer service thing wins out everytime.

twooten173 Posted 20 May 2008 , 5:35am
post #5 of 30