Need Advice Fast!! Wedding Cake Fell Please Help Long

Decorating By rachpizano Updated 20 May 2008 , 11:47pm by confectionaryperfection

rachpizano Posted 20 May 2008 , 12:02am
post #1 of 7

I have been decorating cakes for 6 six years and never had a wedding cake fall until last SAT. I'm still so upset about it. I made this beautiful wedding cake out of butter-cream. It was flawless!! My husband made the delivery for me because I was trying to finish another wedding cake. He left and in ten minute came flying back with the cake in pieces. My husband put the cake in a box that was too big without a grip pad. The cake slide into the side of the box, stopped suddenly, and fell over. It was our fault. Luckily the bottom tier was the only one we could not fix. I just happen to have a "dummy" cake on the self that was the same size as the base. I decorated it like the rest of the cake and then redecorated the other tiers. I then stacked everything together. I also happen to have a sheet cake made of the same flavor as the base tier that feel apart so I used that as a supplement and decorated it the same as the wedding cake. The cake looked like the wedding cake that they ordered, not as flawless, but still nice. Worst of all, this happened on Sat and I still have not heard from the bride though I have made 3 calls and left messages. So either she is REALLY REALLY mad or she is fine with everything and doesn't care. What should I do I still haven't explained what happened to her because I haven't spoken to her. I didn't just want to tell the cater what happened and let them tell the bride and I didn;t want to call her and tell her that the reason I was running late is because her wedding cake fell over. So I have not been able to explain myself to her yet at all. I am so stressed out over it. Should I email her and explain everything through an email? What should I do?

6 replies
diane Posted 20 May 2008 , 12:30am
post #2 of 7

sorry that happen.