Do I Have To Put Up With Fondant That Buckles?

Decorating By brnrlvr Updated 21 May 2008 , 8:56pm by terri76

brnrlvr Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
brnrlvr Posted 19 May 2008 , 8:10pm
post #1 of 10

I am wondering if the fondant always crunches up a little on the bottom of the tier no matter what because of gravity, or if this shouldn't be an accepted phanomina when working with fondant. Does this always happen, or do some of you not get any of this no matter how long the cake sits and it is just something I'm not doing right. Here's a picture of what I mean...
LL

9 replies
wgoat5 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
wgoat5 Posted 19 May 2008 , 8:19pm
post #2 of 10

actually it won't do that if you pull and smooth enough.. make sure you stretch it just a tad bit then smooth down with the side of your hand.. should help with the little ripple.. although I am not a true expert.

smitakasargod Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
smitakasargod Posted 19 May 2008 , 8:28pm
post #3 of 10

I am no expert but could it be your cake settling after covering with fondant? may be you need a more firm cake. Just a guess.
p.s: Love your cake. Very striking colors.

lapazlady Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lapazlady Posted 19 May 2008 , 8:44pm
post #4 of 10

My guess would be weight. Perhaps the bottom layer needed to be a bit firmer. Being sure the fondant is well adhered, should help, too. That is, put on your crumb coat, let sit over night, add the covering of fondant, and allow to sit for 2-3 hours before you add decorations (time permitting). Carefully run you hands over the fondant, or use fondant smoothers, be sure there are no air bubble, and then add your decorations.

The cake is very attractive as it is. Great color and nice design!

mommycakediva Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mommycakediva Posted 19 May 2008 , 8:49pm
post #5 of 10