Black Color Flow

Decorating By Cbelmonte Updated 2 Jul 2008 , 6:01pm by BJ

Cbelmonte Posted 19 May 2008 , 6:39pm
post #1 of 5

I'm just a beginner with cake decorating...and a friend of mine needs a cake but the decorations require black color flow. What is the best way to make it.

4 replies
kakeladi Posted 19 May 2008 , 8:10pm
post #2 of 5

If it's not too detailed you could paint it w/airbrush color OR thin some gel paste w/something like vodka; vanilla extract etc.
If you try to color the icing black it will get funny - probably not dry well if at all.
Also, just a hint: make your colorflow piece on plastic wrap (rather than wax paper or parchment) and you will have less chance of it breaking when you try to take it off the paper. Make *sure* the plastic has no wrinkles.

tracey1970 Posted 20 May 2008 , 1:15am
post #3 of 5

I have used black color flow many times (I have pics of a Spiderman head and some maple leaves in my photos). I just made regular color flow and added black Wilton gel color. I had no problems at all. The color was excellent.

2txmedics Posted 2 Jul 2008 , 3:33pm
post #4 of 5

How do I make a perfect black and most important the RED....I always have problems getting the red...no matter what I try. I need a spiderman cake by july 15th.

Ive bought Chinese Red...and Christmas red, and I still cant do it....

BJ Posted 2 Jul 2008 , 6:01pm
post #5 of 5