3 Tier Mad Hatter Cake That Serves 25 People?? Advice Please

Decorating By Karabear1125 Updated 21 May 2008 , 3:53am by cakecakelady

Karabear1125 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Karabear1125 Posted 19 May 2008 , 1:06pm
post #1 of 11

I just received an email and she wants a mad hatter tea party cake but only needs 25 servings and wants it to be a 3 tier. How in the world?! Can someone please tell me what I should tell her, I'm not good with words and need to price her appropriately and is it possible to do this in a 3 tier with so little servings?? Help!

Thanks so much!

10 replies
ccr03 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ccr03 Posted 19 May 2008 , 1:45pm
post #2 of 11

Figure out the smallest cake you are able to make w/this design.
I would tell her that given the nature of the design, the minimum for this cake is the number you came up with.

This goes back to indydebi's KFC reference. YOu can't go into KFC and stay that you only want two piece of the four piece dinner - you have to pay for the whole dinner.

jmt1714 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jmt1714 Posted 19 May 2008 , 1:59pm
post #3 of 11

um, maybe "no"

honestly - just tell the person that your min # of servings for that type of cake is "x" and thus the min price is "X" times your normal per serving price.

Just b/c they WANT that doesn't mean you have to MAKE that.

KHalstead Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KHalstead Posted 19 May 2008 , 2:04pm
post #4 of 11

I made this one, it's a two tier and serves 25

Not sure HOW you would do it with 3 tiers though
LL

KHalstead Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KHalstead Posted 19 May 2008 , 2:05pm
post #5 of 11

oh, by the way, it's an 8"carved down to a 6" and a 4" carved down to a 3 1/2" cake

lapazlady Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lapazlady Posted 19 May 2008 , 2:18pm
post #6 of 11

You can give the cake more height by using a cake drum, 2 layers of cake and then use the drum to make the 3rd layer, perhaps the largest layer.