In Over My Head!!!

Decorating By hotmamatigger Updated 19 May 2008 , 6:33am by hotmamatigger

hotmamatigger Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
hotmamatigger Posted 16 May 2008 , 4:57pm
post #1 of 20

Hi all! I'm still pretty new to the cake life but I love baking and decorating and I've learned a lot this week from reading the boards here. But suddenly I'm totally doubting myself and wanting to try every idea out there all at once.

Example: Adding pudding to cake mix. I just found out you could do that, still not clear on the specifics, but really wanting to do it. Problem is, I love the cake mix I use and was never looking to change it or add to it until I came here. I mean if there's a concrete reason why I should and how I should do it then I would, but it seems to me that it's a personal choice thing. Doesn't stop me from wanting to do it anyway.

I don't have the time, energy, or resources to do all this. Please someone talk me down from this!

Elizabeth

19 replies
PaulaT Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
PaulaT Posted 16 May 2008 , 5:09pm
post #2 of 20

Hi Elizabeth,
Well, there's no harm in trying something to see if you like it. I too was pretty much set in my baking practices until I came here. Once I tried adding the pudding to a cake mix I absolutely loved it and never looked back. I sift the cake mix and pudding mix together, add 1 cup water, 1/2 cup oil and 4 eggs. It's a no fail trick and everyone loves how moist the cakes are. So just give it a try and if you don't care for it then go back to how you are used to baking. Cake Central has saved me soooo many times. Just have fun and take "tiny steps". This site has so much information it's amazing and everyone is fantastic. thumbs_up.gif

aswartzw Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
aswartzw Posted 16 May 2008 , 5:10pm
post #3 of 20

Welcome to CC and the amazing but overwhelming ideas you are faced with.