Newbie Question...please Help!

Decorating By Juny1980 Updated 16 May 2008 , 1:02am by Juny1980

Juny1980 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Juny1980 Posted 14 May 2008 , 11:26pm
post #1 of 6

I'm a newbie baker/decorator. I bake my cakes 2 days before I need to decorate them and then I take them in to my office on a Monday (approx 4 days after I bake them).

Can someone please share their steps to storing (freezing)/icing a cake? I just want to know if there are pros to freezing a cake as opposed to just storing it in the fridge. Also, if I choose to freeze my cake, am I suppose to freeze it iced or uniced?

Any thoughts/suggestions are appreciated.

Thanks!

5 replies
CakeL8T Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CakeL8T Posted 14 May 2008 , 11:43pm
post #2 of 6

Personally I try not to freeze cakes, I think it dries them out. I bake and decorate them the day before they are needed so they're as fresh as they can be. For wedding cakes I will bake them on Thurs night and decorate them on Friday for Saturday. Just my opinion though...
Carrie

tracey1970 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tracey1970 Posted 15 May 2008 , 12:22am
post #3 of 6

I freeze all my cakes and have never had a problem. I wouldn't have time to do them the day before I need them. I use box mixes, doctored, and find they are very moist when thawed.