Another Website - Just Starting Tips Needed

Business By CoveredInCake Updated 13 May 2008 , 11:13pm by Bossy

CoveredInCake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CoveredInCake Posted 13 May 2008 , 7:30pm
post #1 of 9

Hey, you guys have such good ideas. I have been reading the website threads and I wanted to add mine so I can get soem ideas on what to do with it.

I'm new. I'm just starting out and I have already found one major mistake I've made. I did not take pictures of the 2 wedding cakes that I did that look good. So the gallery really needs some better cakes. I plan on making some just for that purpose next week. icon_smile.gif

Please let me know what you think and what you would change. THanks so much in advance!!!!!!!!!!!

Http://CoveredinCake.com[/url]

8 replies
CoveredInCake Posted 13 May 2008 , 8:40pm
post #2 of 9

We are going to put up a sign "no orders until August 1st" after you guys have a look at the site. Me and another lady, who isn't a computer person but has tons of experience, are trying to open up. I just went ahead and made the website.... It's going to have her pictures on it too. As soon as I can get those from her.

cakeryluv Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakeryluv Posted 13 May 2008 , 8:55pm
post #3 of 9

First of all, I really like the clean, classy layout. Very easy on the eyes, which is great! It's nicely laid out with obvious navigation, so that's good too.

From a functionality standpoint, the only thing I dislike is having the current tab "disappear" when you click on it. It was easy for me to lose track of what tab I was on and which I had gone to because I couldn't see the one I was on. Could just be me, but I'd rather see all 4 tabs showing all the time.

Also, I didn't proofread at all, but one error on the home page caught my eye...in the chocolate fountain section you have frestest instead of freshest. icon_smile.gif

gottabakenow Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
gottabakenow Posted 13 May 2008 , 9:01pm
post #4 of 9