Need Advice About Wedding Cakes

Decorating By carla4 Updated 12 May 2008 , 3:33am by indydebi

carla4 Posted 12 May 2008 , 2:16am
post #1 of 5

Is it tacky or okay to use box cake for wedding cakes? Also, I wil be doing my first wedding cake in Oct. So far, I have make birthday, and wedding and baby shower, mostly themed cakes. Am I out of my league trying to do a wedding cake, or has this been a natural progression? Can anyone who has done wedding cakes, please explain how they got started?

4 replies
indydebi Posted 12 May 2008 , 2:36am
post #2 of 5

First welcome to CC! YOu will find SO much information on here that you never realized you needed.

The "scratch vs. box" is a friendly on-going debate on here. I've been a box mix baker for 25 years and I have my own shop in a strip mall. Please don't fall into the trap of thinking everything in commercial bakeries and restaurants are made from scratch ... they're not. My best example are those 5-lb boxes of cake mix that GFS and Sysco sells ... they aren't selling them to housewives! icon_lol.gificon_lol.gif

If people like the taste of your cakes, there is no reason to change just for change's sake. If you want to expand and offer scratch cakes, I'd recommend what many CC'ers have suggested .... work on your recipes until you find the ones that work for you, then add them to your menus.

YOu can also try a doctored cake mix .... lots of good recipes on this site and I'm sure many CC'ers will pop in with some of their favorites and recommendations.

I made my first wedding cake for the son of a family friend. It took off via word-of-mouth from there.

Looking foward to hearing and seeing more from you! thumbs_up.gif

lisa78332 Posted 12 May 2008 , 2:57am
post #3 of 5