Disclosing Ingredients?

Decorating By BellaBabyCakes Updated 12 May 2008 , 4:42am by melysa

BellaBabyCakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BellaBabyCakes Posted 10 May 2008 , 11:11pm
post #1 of 12

Hi everyone,

I'm a newbie cake decorator and have already treated my coworkers to some decorated cupcakes. Since I've gotten into this my husband has become more aware of cakes around him, the decorating, the taste, etc. He's a good partner icon_biggrin.gif We both work together at an organic dairy cooperative so he's been keeping his eye out for other's cake talents.

Let me start this off my saying that my husband is a recovering alcoholic with 15 yrs sobriety. This of course, makes me very proud. But one day after work he tells me, "I think I accidentally had some alcohol today". After eating a cake that someone brought into work! She used amaretto in the frosting (not cooked). Part of me believes this should be disclosed when people are eating it. Of course, there's some responsibility on his part too to ask, just as you would if you suffered a food allergy. The only way he knew was because people were talking about the flavor after the fact which led to questions.

At a workplace? Am I wrong?

11 replies
SugarplumStudio Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SugarplumStudio Posted 10 May 2008 , 11:27pm
post #2 of 12

First, congrats to your husband for 15 years of sobriety!

My DH has been a vegetarian for 20+ years. He has always made it his responsibility to ask if anything being offered to him to eat is meat/animal product free. Many times, he has almost eaten something that has marshmallows or lard because people don't think to disclose those ingredients. It's cake, not a burger, so they don't consider animal products. He wouldn't never wait for the information to be offered.