I'm So Discouraged... Is This Normal? -- A Little Long

Decorating By jr33176 Updated 13 May 2008 , 4:00am by gibson

jr33176 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jr33176 Posted 10 May 2008 , 7:41pm
post #1 of 14

It seems the more requests I get to make cakes, the worse they are getting. I'm pretty new at this (5 years or so) and wondering if this is normal. I feel stuck because I would love to go to the convention in July in Orlando to learn more, but I don't have the money and it's not like I sell enough cakes to justify going (I hope one day I will!) I guess I see all these great cakes on here and just assume they were "great" to create. I always get depressed somewhere in the middle of putting together the cake -- most of the time, my spirits are lifted as I see it coming together at the end. Is this normal??!!!

My last cake (a donated cake), while tasting wonderful, I made so many stupid mistakes (the filling overflowed my dam, layers were sliding, buttercream would not smooth, I kept bumping the cake and putting "dents" in the side of it) and to top it off, because of my own poor planning and lack of ideas for the darn thing, I made something I didn't like because I was running out of time.

I have a very large cake coming up and am really nervous about it. I want to plan and do as much as possible in advance, but I always seem to underestimate my time and my ability levels.

Thanks for listening. I feel so down about it all. icon_sad.gif

13 replies
amysue99 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
amysue99 Posted 10 May 2008 , 7:51pm
post #2 of 14

I know how you feel! There are many days when the cake looks worse before it gets better. I just keep reminding myself that even though it may look bad during the middle of design, once everything is in place it will be ok. And sometimes, every cake I make in a day will not turn out the way I hoped - once I have to re-do a border 3 times before I was somewhat satisfied.