How Do You Use Parchment Paper?

Decorating By EmilyGrace Updated 9 May 2008 , 11:47am by peanut123

EmilyGrace Posted 9 May 2008 , 1:20am
post #1 of 14

This is probably a very silly question but I've never used it before! icon_redface.gif Do you just cut it out the same size as the bottom of the pan? Do you grease the pan before you put it in? After? Do I need to line the sides?

13 replies
ALVARGA Posted 9 May 2008 , 1:32am
post #2 of 14

I grease the bottom of my pan and then put the parchment circle on top. I regrease the top of the parchment round and sides and flour as usual. Cake never sticks. When you turn the cake out of the pan peel the parchement off. I also use them when I bake cookies. Just cut the sheet to fit the cookie sheet. I buy the rounds already precut but you can just trace the pan and cut your own. Just cut inside the pencil mark. It is great stuff. It is not hard to use and worth it. Hope this helps. icon_biggrin.gificon_biggrin.gif

EmilyGrace Posted 9 May 2008 , 1:34am
post #3 of 14

Thanks so much! I'm off to try it out! icon_biggrin.gif

cakesondemand Posted 9 May 2008 , 1:36am
post #4 of 14

Just line the bottom of the pan and spray the sides so the cake doesn't stick. I don't bake any cake without it lost to many cakes stuck to the bottom of the pan.

peanut123 Posted 9 May 2008 , 1:42am
post #5 of 14

ALVARGA gave you good advice.

You can also just place the pan on-top of the parchment paper and hold it down while you cut around the pan with a knife.

peanut123 Posted 9 May 2008 , 1:43am
post #6 of 14

A little water or grease helps keep the parchment paper from moving around.

No need to line the sides with parchment paper and I rarely grease the paper. It is treated with silicon and it will not stick.

Greasing the sides is optional. For some cakes it is better to not grease the sidesâ¦it helps the cake rise.

Narie Posted 9 May 2008 , 2:33am
post #7 of 14