Baking Large Cakes (Outside Gets Overdone)

Decorating By CheadleChick Updated 7 May 2008 , 9:38pm by CheadleChick

CheadleChick Posted 7 May 2008 , 8:43pm
post #1 of 12

I'm new to making fancy cakes of any kind. My friend has asked me to make her wedding cake this summer. I've started doing some "trial bakes" and have found that I'm having real issues with the bigger cake pans, the outside of the cake gets really overdone (not burnt just really brown) while the middle takes forever to bake.
What can I do? I know there's something that I don't know that'll fix this problem I just have no idea what it is! LOL

11 replies
marthajo1 Posted 7 May 2008 , 8:47pm
post #2 of 12

2 things.

Turn down the oven (325)
&
Put something in the middle... a heating core or a flower nail.

GL & HTH

marthajo1 Posted 7 May 2008 , 8:49pm
post #3 of 12

Oh one more....

Use those bake even strips.

CheadleChick Posted 7 May 2008 , 8:50pm
post #4 of 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by marthajo1

2 things.

Turn down the oven (325)
&
Put something in the middle... a heating core or a flower nail.

That definitely helps thanks! Two more quick questions, what is a heating core/flower nail? And where can I get one? Thanks!

missymayflower Posted 7 May 2008 , 8:52pm
post #5 of 12

Use a heating core for any pan bigger than 10 inches. They are available anywhere that sells cake decorating supplies. A heating core is like a metal cone that is in contact with the bottom of the pan, so it conducts heat into the batter in the middle of your pan, helping your cake to bake more evenly. If you can't find a heating core, you can put a flower nail upside down in your pan before you pour in the batter. It does the same thing. Also, Bake-even strips can help as well. Hope this helps. icon_smile.gif

FromScratch Posted 7 May 2008 , 8:59pm
post #6 of 12