Decorating With Fondant?

Decorating By cfrizzy20 Updated 8 May 2008 , 4:11am by kansaswolf

cfrizzy20 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cfrizzy20 Posted 7 May 2008 , 4:21am
post #1 of 21

I am kind of new to cake decorating . But, I have heard that the fondant turns hard on cakes after you apply it and try to cut it. What I was told was that like a wedding cake you have to remove the fondant before you slice your cake.That would look pretty ugly if you did that. Would really like to know from some cake experts out there. also is it true you can soften your fondant up with your flavors? Reason I have always done butttercream. Also green behind the ears about your abbreviations Like bc for buttercream Thats all I know. Thanks! for any help. icon_confused.gif

20 replies
tonedna Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tonedna Posted 7 May 2008 , 4:27am
post #2 of 21

The fondant hardens a little but is not like a rock. Is edible but not a lot of people like it...Is not really a necesity to take off..People can have the choice to eat it if they want it or not..
Edna icon_biggrin.gif

kansaswolf Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kansaswolf Posted 7 May 2008 , 4:42am
post #3 of 21

It depends on the KIND of fondant you use too... Some kinds are softer and/or taste better than others... I made *1* cake with Wilton fondant, and everyone (but one, dare I say, VERY ODD person... icon_wink.gif ) took the fondant off their own piece, because it WAS nasty. I've since switched to a homemade cream cheese-based variety, which is quite tasty. Rarely do I see people pick it off, and usually it's those people who don't eat icing EVER.

bcake1960 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bcake1960 Posted 7 May 2008 , 4:52am
post #4 of 21