Mmf - What Went Wrong?

Decorating By Valli_War Updated 7 May 2008 , 6:29pm by Loucinda

Valli_War Posted 6 May 2008 , 8:37pm
post #1 of 7

Hi all,
I am very new to cake decorating. I just finished fondant and gumpaste course. I used wilton fondant for the first two classes and made MMF for the final presentation to see how it comes. I did not need all 2 pounds of confectioner's sugar and I thought it came out pretty good. It was soft compared to the wilton fondant. I had no problems covering the cake at home. But when I took the MMF out of refrigerator and took it to class, by the time I tried rolling it and cutting with different cutters, it started stretching too much and lost its shape. What went wrong? Am I not suppose to store it in refrigerator? I did not keep the cake after covering in refrigerator. Maybe condensation caused it to be watery? Please help. I am taking the third course from this week and i do not want to buy fondant. I want to make my own.

Thanks for all the replies.

6 replies
ctackett Posted 6 May 2008 , 8:49pm
post #2 of 7

I don't refrigerate fondant. That's what it did to me the first time. I just cover it really well with plastic wrap and then put in an airtight bowl. I don't think it is necessary to refrigerate it.

tenleysmommy Posted 6 May 2008 , 9:06pm
post #3 of 7

Instead of MMF why not try MFF(michele foster fondant).If you read back post about the two it seems most people prefer MFF.Its a little harder to make but easier to work with.Good luck in your class and here is a link to the recipe. icon_wink.gif

http://www.cakecentral.com/modules.php?name=gallery&file=displayimage&pid=486453

Valli_War Posted 6 May 2008 , 9:54pm
post #4 of 7

Thanks all. I will try the MFF and see how it feels to work.

Loucinda Posted 7 May 2008 , 12:27pm
post #5 of 7

The link brings up a pre-school cake - can you fix it?