How Do I Make A Fondant Bow For Cake Topper And....

Decorating By cakelovincrazy Updated 8 May 2008 , 1:50am by cakelovincrazy

cakelovincrazy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakelovincrazy Posted 6 May 2008 , 1:05pm
post #1 of 4

I'm new to decorating cakes and this past weekend was my first experience with fondant for my daughterâs 3rd birthday. I made a two layer square cake with polka dots and I wanted it to look like a birthday present with polka dots and a big bow on top. Well, the polka dots turned out ok, but I wasnât able to make the bow for the top. The individual pieces that I was folding were very flimsy and wouldnât hold its shape. Iâm not sure if it was the technique or if the fondant wasnât prepared properly. I made a marshmallow and powdered sugar fondant. It seemed ok, was stretchy and didnât tear, so Iâm really confused now.

I also was wondering how you keep the corners of the cake from having the extra fondant when you cover it. When I laid the fondant on top of the cake the corners had extra fondant, so I tried cutting some off but then I had a seam and couldnât smooth it out. I ended up covering the corners with polka dots, so only a very observant eye would see the flaw. Iâve looked at many other fondant cakes and I donât see the same problem I had, so I know there must be a way to fix or prevent it.

Ok just one more question, for now anyway =) How do you keep the cornstarch from showing up on the fondant? I used very bright colors like pink, purple, green and etc. When I rolled out the fondant I was told to use cornstarch to keep it from sticking (which didnât seem to work very well) and the cornstarch left a white powder all over the fondant. I tried scraping it off, but then the colors looked faded. Next I just got my fingers wet and wiped it off which then I found out the water leaves oily like marks.